Sequivity(TM) RNA Particle Technology from Merck Animal Health

AASV Foundation Presents Heritage Award

Dr Kenneth "KT" Wright received the American Association of Swine Veterinarians Foundation's Heritage Award during the AASV's 48th Annual Meeting in Denver, Colorado. Dr John Waddell, AASV Foundation chair, presented the award to Dr Wright on February 27th. He becomes only the third recipient of the award which recognizes individuals who have lifelong outstanding achievements in swine veterinary medicine. It is only awarded on an as-needed basis (not necessarily annually) when a deserving individual has been nominated and selected. Awardees have demonstrated their eligibility through their membership in the AASV, service to the AASV, and service to the North American swine industry.

Dr Wright was born in Quincy, Illinois in 1938. He attended high school and subsequently began his undergraduate education in Macomb, IL at Western Illinois University. After completing his pre-veterinary education, he entered the College of Veterinary Medicine of the University of Illinois where he was awarded his BS degree in 1960 and his DVM degree in 1962. After graduation he began practice in Blandinsville, Illinois where he still practices today.

He has been active in AASP/AASV, serving on the Board of Directors and as Director and Chairman of the AASV Foundation. In addition, he has served on the AASV Reserve Fund Management Committee and represented the association in the American Veterinary Medical Association's House of Delegates. Dr Wright was recognized with the AASP Meritorious Service Award in 1991. In 2005, he was honored with the Erwin Small Alumni Award for Meritorious Service to his Alma Mater, the University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine.

When asked what it meant to receive this award, Dr Wright responded, "it's certainly a humbling experience to be recognized by one's colleagues as the recipient of this award."