Sequivity(TM) RNA Particle Technology from Merck Animal Health

AASV Foundation Announces Recipient of Hogg Scholarship

Dr Erin Lowe was named the 2019 recipient of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians Foundation Hogg Scholarship. Mary Lou Hogg presented the scholarship during the American Association of Swine Veterinarian's 50th Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida.

Established in 2008, the scholarship is named for Dr Alex Hogg who was a leader in swine medicine and pursued a master's degree in veterinary pathology after 20 years in a mixed-animal practice. The scholarship is awarded annually to an AASV member who has been accepted into a qualified graduate program to further his or her education after years as a swine practitioner.

Dr Lowe earned her Doctor of Veterinary Medicine with Highest Honors in 2004 from the University of Illinois. She completed the Executive Veterinary Program in Swine Health Management at the University of Illinois in 2009. Since graduating, Dr Lowe has been involved with the pork industry as a veterinarian, production manager, and a technical services veterinarian. She is currently the associate director of field services and data integration with Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health. She has an interest in improving business and health outcomes by increasing accessibility and usability of data. Recognizing the changing knowledge and skills required of a swine veterinarian, and a desire to better serve the industry through strategic thinking and data management, Dr Lowe has been accepted into the Master of Science-Information Management program in the iSchool at the University of Illinois.