A cost-effective, low-stress injection site isn’t an injection site.

AASV Foundation Announces Recipient of 2009 Hogg Scholarship

Dr. Phil Gauger, Ames, Iowa, was named the 2009 recipient of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians Foundation Hogg Scholarship. The scholarship was presented during the association's annual meeting in Dallas, Texas.

Established in 2008, the scholarship is named for Dr. Alex Hogg who was a leader in swine medicine and pursued a master's degree in veterinary pathology after 20 years in a mixed-animal practice. The scholarship, in the amount of $10,000, is awarded annually to an AASV member who has been accepted into a qualified graduate program to further his or her education after years as a swine practitioner.

"Dr. Gauger is very deserving of the Hogg Scholarship," said Dr. Patrick Halbur, professor and chair of the Department of Veterinary Diagnostic and Production Animal Medicine at Iowa State University. "He reminds me of Dr. Hogg in his passion for swine production medicine, his curiosity to know more, and his tireless efforts to disseminate all that he knows to benefit his colleagues in the pork industry and veterinary profession."

Dr. Gauger is a clinician in the Department of Veterinary Diagnostic and Production Animal Medicine at Iowa State University. He is pursuing a PhD in veterinary microbiology at Iowa State. Dr. Gauger received his DVM degree (1994) and MS (2008) from Iowa State University.

Previously, Dr. Gauger was veterinary medical officer at the USDA's National Animal Disease Center in Ames, Iowa. He was a co-owner at a mixed-animal practice in Marcus, Iowa, from 1994 to 2006.

Dr. Gauger has been a member of the AASV since he was a veterinary student in 1990. His other professional memberships include the American Veterinary Medical Association and the Iowa Veterinary Medical Association. Since 2004, he is an Iowa 4-H Foundation Trustee.

He has authored several articles on swine influenza, porcine circovirus, and other respiratory diseases of swine.